RPG Forums

Go Back   RPG Forums > Role Playing Game Section > Twilight 2000 Forum

Old 04-22-2009, 10:32 AM

Default Night action?

I'm looking for advice here. From several previous thread I have a fair idea of night vision elements and that's not what I'm looking for.

I'm looking for your opinion on night fighting without night vision if any of you know about this. I have no field experience but we had night exercises when I did my service.

As I was in the air force (ground personnel), we of course had no night vision equipments. The result was a nice interesting messy situation where no one could identify the other, where everyone (outside myself) had thrown it's two grenades (blindly)...

So, how would you manage a night assault with no night vision equipment?
Old 04-22-2009, 11:02 AM
Staff Headquarter Weinie

Conducting a night assault with no night vision equipment, well that would depend on what type of operation you were conducting, in a raid or assault you would get into your jumping off positions using no light and then launch the attack using para flares or call for Illumination from the Artillery or Mortars, most other sneaky stuff you would just go with if you had no night vision equipment, When I was a Canadian Army Reservsit we hardly have any NVG, lucky if we had one per section. The Human eye will adjust to most night time conditions to give some degree of sight, and lets no forgot our pal the moon you be amazed how much light you would get from a full or half moon.

Hope this helps
Old 04-22-2009, 12:15 PM

It does, I should have thought of some of it myself but it seemed I simply could get my mind to work. Thanks.
Old 04-22-2009, 01:39 PM

Location: Equaly at home in the water, the mountains and the desert.