RPG Forums

Go Back   RPG Forums > Role Playing Game Section > Archive
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-21-2010, 08:41 PM
Administrator

Send a message via ICQ to kato13
Default First Drill Complete

Webstral 02-09-2004, 03:28 PM I had my first drill with B/1-184 IN (AASLT) [CANG] this weekend. I've just been made a team leader in a rifle squad. This is going to be different. Last time I was in a combat unit, I was a mechanized engineer. There's little in common with the world of light infantry except that we're both combat arms. The last unit I was in was 111th MI Brigade (thus my fixation on southern AZ), which is another world entirely from combat arms. Not to mention the switch from officer to NCO. Oh, life is going to be interesting!

Fortunately, B/1-184th has allayed most of my fears about the National Guard. In terms of the attitudes of the guys and the whole conduct of operations, it's quite close to active duty. Thankfully, no one wears the black beret except on certain occasions in garrison. (Thank you General Shinseki for robbing the Rangers of their distinctive beret and giving it out to everyone in a pitiful effort to give every soldier an I'm-special-too warm and fuzzy.) Everyone is addressed appropriately and not by their first names. The one thing that bugged me was that we didn't pull a very diligent security at night. On one level, I was glad enough to be in my sleeping nag while ice was forming on the outside of it. On the other hand, I would have preferred to see us getting in the habit of pulling security the way it's supposed to be done. Still, that's only one aspect of many.