RPG Forums

Go Back   RPG Forums > Role Playing Game Section > Archive
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-21-2010, 08:48 PM
Administrator

Send a message via ICQ to kato13
Default Teaching and Leading (OT)

Webstral 03-14-2004, 07:50 PM I am a month into my graduate school program, and I am seeing how much teaching and training/leading troops are alike. Certain specifics will change, naturally, but the basic concepts are there.

Based on this, I am realizing that I need to adopt a very different MO than I am seeing in my Guard unit to date. So far, I've been laying back because I don't have a lot of 11B skills. Also, I don't believe in making a big splash in a new unit if I'm not certain of my role and my ability to lead. Some things take time to evolve.

Anyway, now I'm thinking that my next step is to sit down with my fire team and explain my vision. We're getting ready for war, just like the active duty units. The real difference is that I only get 24 training days with my people per annum, versus 300 or so for active duty units. Based on that, a solid familiarity with the basics is a reasonable goal, I think. We should know how to march, how to respond to indirect fire, how to move and fight as individuals and as a team/squad, and so forth. Real expertise won't come in 24 days a year, but we can at least get the point where we won't be cannon fodder is the brigade is called up without 30 days for retraining.

One of the big issues I'm facing is motivation. Not surprisingly, motivation is somewhat less than it would be for, say, the 82nd Airborne. Compared to lots of other National Guard units, motivation is pretty darned high. We get into the field every drill, if the drills I have seen so far and the training schedule are any indication. Nevertheless, I think there are lots of guys who don't think about the very real prospect of being called up. This colors everything that happens during the drill.