RPG Forums

Go Back   RPG Forums > Role Playing Game Section > Twilight 2000 Forum
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-26-2015, 09:47 PM

Default Real life small arms

I just wanted to share a Excel file that I have been working on for a few years and several evolutions. I use it to create small arms for my own use but thought that the community might enjoy playing with it a bit. It uses the Fire Fusion and Steel template but I have switched some values to represent real life weapons and the variations.

The first tab is the instructions for how to use this. (They are included at the end of this as well.) Please ask if anything doesn't make sense or you need a guiding hand. I am wanting the community to help me in also.
Essentially what this does it that it expands upon the data using real values. For example:

Damage and Penetration
1) Damage at range is a measure of the specific bullet's Ballistic Coefficient and initial velocity.
2) Penetration is representative of the bullet's Sectional Density and velocity, not sheer power.
3) Bullet selection matters in rifles especially. For example:

The 7.62 M80 round vs M118LR round can be reviewed and compared in game terms.
With an M24 SWS in 7.62x51 using M80 @ 853 m/s vs M118LR @ 792 m/s
The range of the M80 is 85 while the range for the M118LR is 87.
The damage variations: left is M80, right is M118LR
0-150: 4 0-300: 4
150-500: 3 300-700: 3
500-1000: 2 700-1200: 2
1000-1500: 1 1200-1500:1

Penetration is as such, again left and right correspond
0-300: 1 0-400: 1
300 -800: 2 400-1000: 2
Penetration of Nil beyond these ranges.

Does this mean that the M80 is an inferior round? No. For Machineguns it is sufficient, in Sniper Rifles the "Lethality Range" is increased not necessarily the range of the weapon. The cost, or rarity of such rounds, should be decided upon by the referee.