RPG Forums

Go Back   RPG Forums > Role Playing Game Section > Twilight 2000 Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2009, 08:13 PM
pmulcahy11b's Avatar
pmulcahy11b pmulcahy11b is offline
The Stat Guy
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 4,345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kato13
I've got 5 days until my oilfield processing is done due to a Google limitation on how often you can search for lat/long locations (once every 1.7 seconds)...
How'd you get that search automated?
__________________
War is the absence of reason. But then, life often demands unreasonable responses. - Lucian Soulban, Warhammer 40000 series, Necromunda Book 6, Fleshworks

Entirely too much T2K stuff here: www.pmulcahy.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2009, 08:42 PM
kato13's Avatar
kato13 kato13 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago, Il USA
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via ICQ to kato13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmulcahy11b
How'd you get that search automated?
I do most of my stuff via a perl backend on my webserver but there is a neat pure html/javascript way to do it.

First you need to get a map key for your website.
http://code.google.com/apis/maps/signup.html

Second view and copy source from this page.
http://maps.juhlin.com/maps/geomulti_demo.htm

Third Replace my map key with yours.
<script src="http://maps.google.com/maps?file=api&amp;v=2&amp;key=***your_key_here***" type="text/javascript"></script>


Fourth Put the addresses you want in here.

var addresses = [
"PAWNEE EAST, OK",
"MEHAN NE, OK",
"RATTLESNAKE, OK",
"ORLANDO EAST, OK",
"HARTSHORNE, OK"
];


Fifth upload the file to your webserver and view it. It will process about one record every 2 seconds.

It works nice up to about 1000 records then the browser slows down so I suggest breaking the data down into ~1000 record chunks.

Edit; Oho another thing is that is is usually best to provide a full state name to Google as they will often interpret CA as Canada and CO as Columbia and KY as one of the Former Soviet republics.

Last edited by kato13; 07-12-2009 at 08:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-12-2009, 08:46 PM
kato13's Avatar
kato13 kato13 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago, Il USA
Posts: 3,641
Send a message via ICQ to kato13
Default

Here is another source for a simpler multi geocode solution.

http://www.batchgeocode.com/

I really don't like it though. It uses Yahoo's geocode model which tries to always return something. If it can't find a city within a state it returns the center of the state. Google tells you when it cant find something which is much more useful IMO.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canon Mexican Locations. kato13 Twilight 2000 Forum 12 12-04-2022 03:58 PM
"Operation Reset" and "The free city of Krakow" Marc Twilight 2000 Forum 26 12-09-2020 10:02 AM
"10 Greatest" on the Military Channel Matt Wiser Twilight 2000 Forum 47 08-18-2018 11:44 PM
OT: Russian "Almaz" Space Station CStock88 Twilight 2000 Forum 27 04-25-2016 02:58 PM
Florida/Cuba (Split from "What do u do?") bigehauser Twilight 2000 Forum 4 10-26-2008 02:59 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.