RPG Forums

Go Back   RPG Forums > Role Playing Game Section > Twilight 2000 Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2009, 05:00 PM
Raellus's Avatar
Raellus Raellus is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Marana, AZ
Posts: 2,668
Question Cold War Operational Wargames for the PC

I'd really like to play out a final spring '01 Soviet offensive in Iran but I'm not sure how I could go about doing that. I've researched GDW's Third World War series of PNP games and they are pretty hard to come by. Also, I don't have anyone who could play the OPFOR. What I need is an AI opponent or maybe someone else out there on the net.

So, does anyone know of an Operational Wargame that my Vista PC could run that could be used to simulate some of the major T2K battles? All the computer games I've found were designed for much earlier operating systems.

I've probably missed the boat since the Cold War isn't very popular as a setting anymore. But, it doesn't hurt to ask. You guys are the best resource out there.
__________________
Dulce bellum inexpertis. - Erasmus
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2009, 07:07 PM
boogiedowndonovan's Avatar
boogiedowndonovan boogiedowndonovan is offline
Activist Rules Lawyer
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: norcal
Posts: 309
Default

Try the Operational Art of War III

I'm a big fan of this game. Lots of scenarios (WWII, WWIII) and a scenario editor so you can create your own.

Someone converted GDW's Third World War series to run on Operational Art of War III.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2009, 10:44 AM
Raellus's Avatar
Raellus Raellus is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Marana, AZ
Posts: 2,668
Default

Thanks BDD. Looks very promising. It's system requirements don't mention Vista. Have you (or anyone else out there) played it using Vista. It'd probably work but I'd like some reassurance before I drop $50 on it.
__________________
Dulce bellum inexpertis. - Erasmus
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-01-2009, 07:33 PM
boogiedowndonovan's Avatar
boogiedowndonovan boogiedowndonovan is offline
Activist Rules Lawyer
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: norcal
Posts: 309
Default

Hey Raellus,

I have Vista Home premium on my pc.

The game runs fine even if the system requirements don't list Vista.

However, to be completely honest, I've found that during some of the later turns with large games (300 plus units on both sides, after about 25 or so turns) the combat results window disappears or fails to show. (This window shows the results of each combat during the turn.) I usually just minimize and come back and it goes to the next combat sequence in the turn without any adverse affects.

I went to the Matrix games forum and searched for Vista problems. This problem seems to be related to something else and not Vista (XP users sometimes have this problem as well).

Here are the two threads from the Matrix games forum

http://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm...vista&#1483004

http://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm...vista&#1366191

let me know if you have any other questions about the Operational Art of War III. you can hit my inbox or send me an email boogiedowndonovan at gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2010, 07:12 PM
GDWFan's Avatar
GDWFan GDWFan is offline
Bloomington IL
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bloomington-Normal IL
Posts: 29
Default Steel Panthers

Using the modern steel panthers, you could truly play out the operations of the third world war.

Does anyone play this? we should try to get a large game going to determine some things on there?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2010, 08:00 PM
cavtroop cavtroop is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Central, GA
Posts: 233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GDWFan View Post
Using the modern steel panthers, you could truly play out the operations of the third world war.

Does anyone play this? we should try to get a large game going to determine some things on there?
I play WinSPMBT all the time. It's better suited for Platoon - Battalion sized operations though, anything bigger will take years to do, as it's a 1:1 scale for vehicles and squads.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2010, 04:01 AM
Dog 6 Dog 6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 219
Default

the Operational Art of War III I play all the time, works fine with windows 7, idk about vista but should work. I've made many T2K games for it, its a very good engine, but its modeling of air and navy is poor at best, for very big games the programing of the AI in limited, and it does not distinguish between damaged and destroyed equipment ( ie. only knocked out or not ). very good for pbem imo
__________________
"There is only one tactical principal which is not subject to change. It is to use the means at hand to inflict the maximum amount of wounds, death and destruction on the enemy in the minimum amount of time."
--General George S. Patton, Jr.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2010, 12:14 PM
GDWFan's Avatar
GDWFan GDWFan is offline
Bloomington IL
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bloomington-Normal IL
Posts: 29
Default

Definitly not for the whole war, but I think it would be very realistic to play a 7 or 8 game campagin that plays out the major battles. Depending on the leadership you could build some really great stories about the battle for your background in say berlin, kalisz.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-01-2010, 02:41 PM
boogiedowndonovan's Avatar
boogiedowndonovan boogiedowndonovan is offline
Activist Rules Lawyer
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: norcal
Posts: 309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dog 6 View Post
the Operational Art of War III I play all the time, works fine with windows 7, idk about vista but should work. I've made many T2K games for it, its a very good engine, but its modeling of air and navy is poor at best, for very big games the programing of the AI in limited, and it does not distinguish between damaged and destroyed equipment ( ie. only knocked out or not ). very good for pbem imo
Operational Art of War III works on Vista, both me and Rae have Vista and Operational Art of War III. Don't ask me why, but it works better on his for some reason, but there's some minor bugs on mine.

agree on the AI and the modeling of air and navy.

hey how about sharing some of your T2k scenarios? just curious

-bdd
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cold War Reignited? kato13 Twilight 2000 Forum 0 09-10-2008 04:16 AM
Campy Cold War Fun kato13 Twilight 2000 Forum 0 09-10-2008 03:11 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.